Ford Inside News banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
500 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Eight days; One-Fifty, as in 2015 F-150; how it started, progressed and ended in just over a week.

It all started two weeks ago, I had to run to the post-office at lunch, and since my boss was on the road, and the Ford Dealer was “almost” in the path of my return route, I figured I’d stop by, kick a few tires, and maybe harass a salesman or two.

As most of you know, I’ve been leaning towards the new F150 for several years; really dig some of the simple, yet unique features. In my mind the 5.0L was my first engine choice, but intrigued by the 2.7L, since my last F150 had a 5.4L – double the size, 12 years prior.

Once I found out the 2.7L was only available with the shorter 5 ½’ bed, that all but sealed my decision on the 5.0L, since the dealer had a 5.0L Lariat SuperCrew handy I took that for a spin, noticeably “lighter” feeling than my 2013 GMT900 Silverado which is also a Crew-Cab 4x4, not saying it was all mass related, I think it was a combination of the more powerful engine and lighter chassis. (However the difference was more noticeable when I got back into my Silverado to head back to the office, it literally felt like I was dragging something.)

In my conversation with the salesmen, I found out Ford just expanded pull-ahead from 3-months to 6-months; anything between now and March 31st is eligible, the wheels in my head start to turn……..

I loved our Fusion, but after leasing my toy (The Volt) and buying the MKX for my wife’s winter-time security blanket, it was an EXTRA-extra car. Anyway the Dealer I was at had a very light selection of Lariat SuperCrew, and none with the 6 ½’ bed, which is what I was looking for.

Anyway, I didn’t solve much in my visit, but I did learn of the expanded pull-ahead, confirmed my satisfaction with the 5.0L engine and nothing glaringly problematic in my review of the truck overall, so whenever, wherever a F150 Lariat was still the goal.